Vision & Mission  
  Photo Gallery  
  Phone Numbers  
  Contact Us  



Heavenly Patron:  St. Mary
  Short History
The mission command of Jesus to preach the Gospel is manifested by the apostolic activities of St. Thomas in India.  The emergence of Thomas christians in India particulary in Kerala led  to the growth of a solid Christian community in Kerala, which is characterized by its liturgy, spirituality, discipline etc.

The Thomas Christains were one community till the historical coonan cross oath in 1653.  The event divided the church into various denominations,  In order to restore the unity, Mar Ivnios wholeheartedly accepted the communion of the Catholic Church.  Mar Ivanios, the prophet of the reunion movement caused  the formation and development of the Malankara Catholic Church.

The establishment of the eparchy of Muattupuzha is really a milestone in the stable development of the Malankara Catholic Church in India.  Since the geographic area covers the highest  number of non catholic Thomas Christians, the mission and vision of the diocese would guarantee the reunion movement much.  It was then Metropolitan of the Eparchy of Tiruvalla, His Excellency Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Timotheos, out of his far-reaching vision of the mission of the Church and for the overall development of the northern region of the Eparchy, took initiatives to bifurcate the Eparchy of Tiruvalla and to erect the new Eparchy of Muvattupuzha. The proposal was accepted by the Holy Father, Pope John Paul II, who made canonical provision for the establishment of the Eparchy of Muvattupuzha on 15 January 2003. The Holy Father appointed His Excellency Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Mar Koorilos as its first Metropolitan. The installation took place on 6 February 2003 at Vazhappilly, Muvattupuzha. His Excellency Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Mar Koorilos took initiative to organize departments and institutions for the effective realization of the goals set by the new Eparchy. The 76th anniversary of the Reunion Movement was held at Vazhappilly, Muvattupuzha on 20 and 21 September 2006. After five years of leadership in the Diocese His Excellency Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Mar Koorilos was appointed Metropolitan-Archbishop of Tiruvalla on 2 May 2007. On the same day Major Archbishop-Catholicos of the Malankara Catholic Church, His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis appointed Msgr. John Varghese Easwarankudiyil as the Administrator of the Eparchy.

On 18 January 2008 His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis, Major Archbishop-Catholicos of the Malankara Catholic Church,  appointed Very Rev. Dr. Abraham Kackanatt, CEO & Secretary of Pushpagiri Medical Society as the new Metropolitan of the Eparchy of Muvattupuzha. Msgr. Dr. Abraham Kackanatt was consecrated Bishop on 9 February 2008 and he assumed his Episcopal name: Abraham Mar Julios. On the same day he was installed as the Metropolitan of Muvattupuzha.

The Eparchy of Muvattupuzha comprises the civil districts of Ernakulam, Thrissur and Palakkad in Kerala State and Coimbatore, Tirupur, Erode and Karur in Tamil Nadu.

Copyright © Muvattupuzha Diocese 2009-2011. All rights reserved.Created by Tachyon